FOURTEENTH PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE

Second Session

THIRD REPORT OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE
ON NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT
AS NOMINATED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

Parl. 23 of 2025

Presented to Parliament on

8 April 2025

COMPOSITION OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE

Mr Speaker (Mr Seah Kian Peng) (Marine Parade) (Chairman)

Mr Chan Chun Sing (Tanjong Pagar)

Minister for Education

Mr Gan Kim Yong (Chua Chu Kang)
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Trade and Industry

Ms Gan Siow Huang (Marymount)

Minister of State, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Manpower

Ms Indranee Rajah (Tanjong Pagar)

Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Finance,
Second Minister for National Development and Leader of the House

Ms Sylvia Lim (Aljunied)

Dr Mohamad Maliki bin Osman (East Coast) Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Education and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan (Holland-Bukit Timah) *Minister for Foreign Affairs*

CONTENTS

						Page	?S
Third Report of the Special Select Committee					 •••	1	
Minutes of Proceedings					 	2	

THIRD REPORT OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT AS NOMINATED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

The Special Select Committee, appointed pursuant to the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore to nominate persons for appointment by the President as nominated Members of Parliament, has agreed to the following Report:

Introduction

- Section 4(2) of the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore provides: "Whenever the seat of a nominated Member has become vacant for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament or the expiry of his term of service, the Special Select Committee may, if it thinks fit, nominate a person for the President to appoint as a nominated Member to fill the vacancy.".
- 2 Mr Joshua Thomas Raj and Dr Syed Harun Alhabsyi were appointed as nominated Members of Parliament for a term of two and a half years from the date of their appointment on 24 July 2023. They resigned as nominated Members of Parliament on 14 February 2025.

Decision of the Committee

- The Committee met on 7 April 2025 to consider the matter of the two vacated seats.
- 4 Under Article 65(4) of the Constitution, the current Parliament, unless sooner dissolved, shall continue for five years from its first sitting on 24 August 2020 and shall then stand dissolved (i.e. on 23 August 2025).
- Considering the time required to invite the general public to submit names of persons who may be considered for nomination by the Committee and the term of the current Parliament, the Committee decided not to nominate any persons for appointment as nominated Members of Parliament to fill the two vacancies.

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

	13 th Meeting							
	Monday, 7 April 2025 3.00 pm							
	PRESENT:							
Mr Cl Mr Ga Ms Ga Ms In	peaker (Mr Seah Kian Peng) (in the Chair) han Chun Sing an Kim Yong an Siow Huang andranee Rajah ylvia Lim							
	ABSENT:							
	ohamad Maliki Bin Osman ivian Balakrishnan							
1	The Committee deliberated.							
	Report							
2	The Chairman's report brought up and read the first time.							
3	Resolved, "That the Chairman's report be read a second time paragraph by paragraph.".							
	Paragraphs 1 to 5 inclusive read and agreed to.							
4	Resolved, "That this report be the report of the Committee to Parliament.".							
5	Agreed, that the Chairman do present the report to Parliament once copies are available distribution to Members of Parliament.	for						
	Adjourned sine	die						